The Ventures
The Ventures Band Members: Bob Spalding, Nokie Edwards, Don Wilson, Gerry McGee, Bob Bogle, Leon Taylor.
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame - Class of 2008

NASA 25th Anniversary Album

NASA 25th Anniversary Album

Journey To The Stars

NASA album was a concept album to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the space program. It was first released on clear vinyl as a collector's item.

The songs were another experiment by the band to create new and interesting guitar sounds.

Journey To The Stars is a Ventures original.

The 'L5 Society' sanctioned this album as an official part of NASA's 25th Anniversary celebration. The 'L5 Society' was a space advocacy group supporting both manned and unmanned space missions. It was based on the concepts of Dr. Gerard K. O'Neill. In 1986, The 'L5 Society' merged with the 'National Space Institute', founded by Dr. Wernher von Braun, to form the 'National Space Society'.

The Society enjoys the support of, and is served by, a volunteer elected Board of Directors and Board of Governors consisting of astronauts and other public figures. Among the many participating astronauts were Buzz Aldrin, Michael Collins, Frank Borman, Jim Lovell, and John Glenn. Among the other well known public figures to have participated were writer Sir Arthur C. Clarke, entertainers Tom Hanks, Majel Barrett Roddenberry, and Nichelle Nichols, plus Dr. Michael DeBakey.   

The Ventures received several letters of thanks from astronauts commending them for their efforts on this project.